Our authors are as diverse as our books – as well as publishing winners of the Orange Prize for Fiction (Lionel Shriver); the Nobel Prize for Literature (Elfriede Jelinek, Kenzaburo Oe, Herta Muller); the John Llewellyn Rhys Prize (Jonathan Trigell), we publish debut novelists, voices in translation, and provocative non-fiction writers.

Walter Mosley, Neil Bartlett, David Toop, Derek Raymond, Stella Duffy, Attica Locke, Jah Wobble, Joe Boyd – just a few of the stellar names who consider themselves Serpent’s Tail authors.


Jeremy Scahill

Jeremy Scahill is an unembedded, international journalist. He has reported extensively from Iraq through both the Clinton and Bush administrations. He reported from Yugoslavia during the 1999 NATO bombing and spent years covering the downfall of Slobodan Milosevic’s government and the rise of a neoliberal regime backed by the United States. He has also reported [...]



Tiziano Scarpa

Tiziano Scarpa was born in Venice in 1963. He is a poet, novelist, playwright and essayist. He has written a number of acclaimed novels including Eyes On the Broiler and Western Kamikaze. His radio play Pop Corn, received international critical acclaim and was aired by the BBC and other European radio stations. He regularly speaks [...]



Lynne Segal

Lynne Segal is Anniversary Professor of Psychology and Gender Studies at Birkbeck College, University of London.  Migrating from Australia to Britain in 1970, as the women’s liberation movement kicked off, she made her name as a feminist activist, writer and scholar.  She has published widely across the spectrum of sexual politics, gender concerns and broader [...]



Clemens J. Setz

Clemens  J. Setz was born in 1982 and lives in Graz, Austria. He has received numerous prizes for his work, including the Leipzig Book Fair Prize 2011  (for Die Liebe zur Zeit des Mahlstädter Kindes (Love in the Time of the Mahlstadt Child),  the Literature Prize of the City of Bremen 2010, and the Ernst-Willner-Preis at the [...]



Gene Sharp

Gene Sharp (born 21 January 1928) is Professor Emeritus of political science at the University of Massachusetts Dartmouth and a Nobel Peace Prize nominee. He is known for his extensive writings on nonviolent struggle, which have influenced numerous anti-government resistance movements around the world, most recently the Arab Spring uprisings of 2011.